I’ve Been Neglecting You

I’ve been neglecting you. Sorry. There are two reasons for my neglect. Firstly, I’ve been very busy. Secondly, I had – until very recently – run out of inspiration. But now there’s something to report.

Last night I invited Matt and his girlfriend Holly round for coffee.

“How’s that blog of yours going, Sami?” asked Matt.

“Not very well, if I’m honest,” I admitted. “Actually, that’s one of the reasons I invited you round here. I want to pick your brains.”

Holly peered at me suspiciously over the rim of her coffee cup. “What about?”

“I’m still confused. Tell me again what Christians think about the Trinity.”

“The thing is,” she said, “Christians don’t think about the Trinity. They just accept the concept as a matter of course and wouldn’t dream of questioning it.”

“But it doesn’t make sense,” I complained. “It’s just not logical!”

“Maybe the concept doesn’t seem logical to us because of our human limitations,” said Matt, “but that’s really a factor in its favour. I mean, think about it – a God you could understand wouldn’t be a God at all.”

I thought about his statement for a while, but it still didn’t get any clearer. “I don’t know what you mean,” I said.

“Look at it this way. Here’s Mr Smith,” said Holly, placing her cup on the table. She put a teaspoon next to the cup. ” And here’s his dog, Fido.”

“Oh, really?” I groaned.

“Yes, Sami. Now Fido,” she said, pointing to the spoon, “loves Mr Smith. And why wouldn’t he? Mr Smith feeds him, gives him shelter, takes him for walks and throws sticks for him to fetch. He loves Mr Smith – but he doesn’t understand him. Fortunately, he doesn’t need to. On the other hand, Mr Smith loves Fido and understands him totally. Do you see what I’m trying to say?”

“Yes, I think so. . . er, actually, no, I don’t know what you mean at all.”

“What Holly’s saying,” said Matt, “is that we – the created beings – are not very likely to understand the Creator who made us and everything else there is. He, though, understands us perfectly.”

I sniffed.

“Would you like some more coffee?” I asked. “And I might even have some chocolate biscuits hidden away somewhere ….”

This entry was posted in Faith, Hope, Life, Love, Religion and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Tell me what you think....

