The Challenge

Rather later than I’d originally intended, I went round to see Matt last night.

“Can you explain the Trinity to me?” I asked.

He laughed. “Explain the Trinity? No one can do that, Sami.”

“At least tell me this,” I said. “Do Christians believe in three gods or one god? Which is it?”

“I thought we’d already covered that question,” he said. “There is only one God – who you call Allah – the one who created the Universe.”

Impolitely, but I was excited now, I pointed a finger at him. “Then what about Jesus? You call him God, don’t you? Or the Son of God? How does he fit into the Christian scheme of things?”

Matt looked up at the ceiling and sighed. “How much of the Bible have you read?”

“Only enough to make my head spin.”

“Well, you may have noticed that nowhere in the Bible is the word Trinity mentioned. Neither does Jesus ever say that he’s the Son of God-”

“What!” I gasped. “You’re telling me it’s all made up!”

“No! Please, Sami, you must give me a chance to finish. The word Trinity is just something which people use for a concept which is totally outside of their normal experience. That’s what people do when they come across something they don’t understand. They start by giving it a name, so that everyone knows they’re all talking about the same thing.”

I thought about this for a moment. “Okay. Suppose I agree with you. What about Jesus never claiming to be God?”

He smiled. “Jesus was perfectly happy to let people draw their own conclusions about him. He never forced his views on them. They had to work things out for themselves – which, if you think bout it, is the best possible way, isn’t it?”

I shrugged . “Maybe,” I confessed

Matt leaned a little closer. “Our job, Sami, is to get to know God – Allah – and to find out what He wants us to do. We both want to know the truth, don’t we? Nothing else really matters.”

“Yes, I said, ” but how can we do that?”

He held up a finger.

“That,” he said,”is a very good question and the best answer I’ve ever heard anyone give is: just ask.”

 

This entry was posted in Faith, Hope, Life, Love, Religion and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Challenge

  1. Eko Basuki says:

    Don’t forget the Holy Spirit. NEVER forget the Holy Spirit!

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Challenge | Sami’s View – Empty Nest Man

  3. emptynestman says:

    Enjoyed this read. Curating for the tribe.

    Like

Tell me what you think....

