Keeping a Promise

Yesterday evening, as promised, I took a copy of the Quran in English round to Matt’s house and handed it over to him. He received it politely.

“Come in and have a cup of coffee,” he said.

“Sorry,” I said. “I’m afraid I can’t stop. I’ve still got some revision to finish off.”

He nodded. “Have you had a chance to look at the Bible I gave you?”

“Not much more than a casual glance, really. It seems to be all about people. People and their stories.”

“Yes, I suppose it is,” said Matt.

“There was one thing I noticed. Someone somewhere in the Bible says: There is no God but One!”

“That’s right,” said Matt. “It’s Paul, if I remember rightly. He says it. And it’s true, isn’t it?”

I was surprised by his casual attitude. “But that just proves what Muslims have been saying all along!”

“And Christians,” he said.

“No, Matt! Christians think there are three gods!”

He shook his head.

“Both Christians and Muslims believe that there is only one God, the Creator who made everything we can see – and all the things we can’t see, too.”

“Really?”

He nodded.

“Well,” I said, somewhat taken aback, “I’ll carry one reading and see what other shocks I can find. – if you will do the same.”

“I will,” he said.

 

This entry was posted in Love and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Keeping a Promise

  1. Erik Müller says:

    Dear Gingerbeardman,

    Thank you for giving me the opportunity to reply to your questions. I would like to do so by quoting Izani Mahayudin bin Abd Aziz.

    He said: ‘We already know Allah our lord is One. As in Surah al-Ikhlas 112:1-4. But why does Allah the Lord use the word “We” to refer to Himself in many verse or ayat in the Qur’an? For example He says in Surah al-Anbiya’ 21:107 “And We did not send you (O Muhammad) except as a mercy to the world.” The word “we” is plural, more than one. Why does Allah use “We” instead of “I” to refer to Himself?’

    May Allah bless and guide you, Gingerbeardman.

    Like

    • Gingerbeardman says:

      Is the queen a sufferer of schizophrenia when she uses the royal we instead of I when referring to herself in speeches?

      Like

  2. Erik Müller says:

    Dear Gingerbeardman, they are not three individuals. They are three Persons in one God – the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit. That is hard to understand, I know, but can you expect humans to understand God? After all, He is so great!

    Like

    • Gingerbeardman says:

      oooh. Person’s not individuals… well not sure how that makes a bit of difference, but please do elaborate for me. Explain how that makes it better.

      And fully understand? No. But do you really think it is reasonable that The Most Just, Supreme Creator would present something which on the surface seems unreasonable, illogical, and expect people to blindly accept it or else burn in the hell-fire forever?

      If no, then one of two things is possible.

      1. Your trinity is untrue.
      2. There is a reasonable explanation and proof for it, but you’ve so far failed to present it here.

      Back to you Erik

      Like

  3. Erik Müller says:

    I completely agree that the Trinity is a hard concept to understand, but it is not true to say that Christians believe in three Gods. What we do believe in is One God in Three Persons. Does this sound strange? Perhaps, but life is strange (and wonderful), isn’t it?.

    Like

    • Gingerbeardman says:

      Hi Erik,

      I hope Sami doesn’t mind me high-jacking his thread to discuss this matter with you but…

      Are these three individuals all co-equal?

      Like

  4. Gingerbeardman says:

    The Christians claim to believe in one God is not really true, though I accept they believe it to be so. It’s a good idea to question them on each section of the trinity, and quite often they will realise themselves each is distinct and not the same one God.

    Like

Tell me what you think....

